Friday, September 30, 2011

Funk In Yr Friday

The beats for your feets are here - a wicked Greg Wilson mash-up of Fujiya & Miyagi’s ‘Ankle Injuries’ and Madonna’s ‘Ray Of Light', a nice edit of a Lou Rawls classic, an 808 State anniversary remix, and tracks from Korallreven & Recloose.

Fujiya & Miyagi vs. Madonna - Fujiya & Madge (Greg Wilson Mash Up)
Lou Rawls - You'll Never Find Another Love Like Mine (Womack ReWork)
808 State - Cubik (21st Anniversary Remix)
Korallreven - As Young As Yesterday
Recloose - Electric Sunshine

Saturday, September 17, 2011


I'lls' ("isles") are a Melbourne trio that are starting to make a bit of a splash lately. They played at the big Parklife in Melbourne yesterday alongside such notables as Diplo. Gossip, Lykke Li and Little Dragon. They play a lovely mix of music which veers from electro to ambient folk to indie to shoegaze-y pop and back again. Skittery programmed beats mesh with guitars and ethereal keys. It is delightfully mesmerizing stuff. Their first EP is called Thread and is available from the Bandcamp link above. Like them on Facebook too...

Friday, September 09, 2011

Funky Friday!

Time to put some funk in yer Friday. Enjoy a bunch of stuff covering all kinds of styles. If these don't get your feet moving then forget you!

John Foxx & The Maths - Watching A Building On Fire (Andy Gray Remix)
Joey Negro ft. Gramophonedzie - No Sugar feat Shea Soul (Le Crayon Remix)
Midnight Magic - What The Eyes Can't See
Bullion - Time For Us All To Love
Cud - Magic (SirBilly ReStart)
Glass Candy - Beautiful Object
Tyrone Brunson - The Smurf
Bent - British Summertime
Royksopp - Shore Of Easy
SBTRKT - Pharoahs

Tuesday, September 06, 2011

Bring Me Coffee Or Tea

Can - Bring Me Coffee Or Tea
Spoon Records and Mute are set to release the 40th anniversary edition of the classic Can album Tago Mago on November 15, 2011. It comes packaged in the original UK artwork for the first time since 1971, and includes a bonus CD featuring 50 minutes of unreleased live material from 1972, all remastered in 2011. Tago Mago was the first album with Damo Suzuki on vocals and features the line up of Holger Czukay on bass, Michael Karoli on guitars, Jaki Liebezeit on drums and Irmin Schmidt on keyboards. To further celebrate the 40th anniversary, Abtart gallery in Stuttgart (Sep 16 – Nov 5) and Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin (Nov 24 –Dec 18) will host Halleluwah!, a visual homage to Can. Artists have been invited to interpret Can’s pioneering role in composition, sound, playing technique, and group dynamics. Comprising painting, drawing, videos, objects, and sound pieces that relate to the broad spectrum of the band’s manifestations and to the facets of the collective, including critical considerations of its being turned into a myth, some works will respond to the covers of Can albums, others will be investigations or continuations of sound into the present, while yet others will simply be hallucinatory bows before these great musicians. All 14 of Can’s studio albums have been newly cut to vinyl from the remastered tapes for release as a vinyl deluxe box set, The Lost Tapes. Curated by Irmin Schmidt and Daniel Miller, and edited and compiled by Jono Podmore, this will include CDs of all the albums, extensive booklets, an exclusive never released live album (vinyl only) and a newly remastered "Out Of Reach" previously unavailable! The vinyl deluxe box set will be available for pre-order at the beginning of October 2011, and will be released in March 2012.