Wednesday, June 17, 2009

SIART Says...

Radioclit + Esau Mwamwaya = The Very Best.
Listen to "Ntende Uli" from their forthcoming album WARM HEART OF AFRICA. A very satisfying blend of electronic trickery and Afro pop.

SIART has been listening to a bunch of great music lately. Here are some details...
The Gossip are back with a new album called Music For Men and it is the shit. It is by no means a stylistic reinvention, just a fine tuning of the post-punk+disco formula for maximum pop impact. In other words, it is a lot shinier and slicker than the last one, and it is good. Lots of huge catchy riffs and choruses and loads of disco bass. Beth Ditto has one of the most soulful voices out there, and it is put to very good use here. The album will be avialable digitally on June 23rd but for some absurd reason won't hit stores in the US until October 6th. What the hell? I mean really - the record is done. Why not just put it out already?


Norwegian duo Datarock's new album Red is a shoo in for one of my favorite records of the year. They take all of the best that the '80s had to offer and mix it into a highly addictive and danceable set of indie dance pop rock tunes. The album is streaming on the band's mehspace. I recommend several tunes; True Stories has lyrics made up almost entirely of Talking Heads song titles and musically is pretty close too. Molly is an ode to Molly Ringwald, forever pretty in pink. Dance! cheekily incorporates a bit of Dire Straits' Money For Nothing. And the first song is The Blog, so you know I'm feeling that! All in all a really fun listen, and my kids love it. Watch Datarock's Fredrik explain RED track by track and read the lyrics here. The album is out now digitally and will be released physically September 1st. Once again, why not just put it out already?

SIART also recommends these quality items...
  • Dangermouse & Sparklehorse - Dark Night Of The Soul
  • Wendy & Lisa - White Flags Of Winter Chimneys
  • Dirty Projectors - Bitte Orca
  • Discovery - LP
  • The Emperor Machine - Space Beyond The Egg
  • Miike Snow - Miike Snow
  • Noisettes - Wild Young Hearts
  • Little Boots - Hands
  • Mos Def - Ecstatic
  • Sonic Youth - The Eternal

No comments: